Board of Trustees | Emeritus Board | Advisory Board | Senior Staff 


Detroit Public Television is governed by a Board of Trustees led by Board Chair, Charles Ciuni, Leader, Automotive Suppliers Practice, Partner, Deloitte LLP (please change to) Thomas C. Shafer is Vice Chairman & President at Talmer Bank & Trust and Chief Operating Officer at Talmer Bancorp, Inc. The board is composed of representatives from the local, business, civic, and cultural communities. The station is operated by a professional staff headed by President and CEO Rich Homberg.

DPTV’s Community Advisory Panel reviews the station’s content (programming, productions) and community engagement and connects the station to ideas and interests of other organizations in Southeast Michigan. Learn more about the Community Advisory Panel


View Meeting Schedule >

Detroit Public TV Trustees on why they support DPTV:

Board of Trustees

Thomas C. Shafer, Chair
Rich Homberg, President & CEO
Sandra Ennis, Secretary
Daniel Alpert, Asst. Secretary
Pat Fehring, Treasurer
Ken Banach, Asst. Treasurer
Donna Murray-Brown, Vice Chair
Charles Ciuni, Vice Chair
Arthur Horwitz, Vice Chair
Barbara Kratchman, Vice Chair
Bud Liebler, Vice Chair
Hannan Lis, Vice Chair
James Mitchell, Vice Chair

Michael Acheson
Bob Allison
Melody Arabo
C. Leslie Banas
Jennifer Belveal
Terrence Burke
Tony Cervone
Cindy Ciura
Ray Day
Eva Garza Dewaelsche
Dennis Drenikowski
Marianne Fey
Jennifer Fiore
Rainy Hamilton Jr.
Mark W. Jannott
Frank Jonna
Carol Klein
Leonard A. Kruszewski
Daniel E. Little
Timothy Nicholson
Juliette Okotie-Eboh
Byron Pitts
Melissa Roy
Howard Sherman
Christine Sing
David Sturtz
Deborah G. Tyner
Michael Watson
Simon Whitelocke
Todd Wyett


Emeritus Board

Elaine Baker
John Beran
Melonie Colaianne
Susan Cooper
Tarik Daoud
Ronald Goldsberry
Vaughn Koshkarian
Dana Locniskar
James Nicholson
Richard Rassel
George Riley
Lois Shaevsky
Stephen Strome
Ken Whipple


Community Advisory Panel

Learn more about the Community Advisory Panel > 


Senior Staff

Rich Homberg, President and CEO, rhomberg@dptv.org
Ken Banach, EVP and CFO, kbanach@dptv.org
Jeff Forster, EVP of Productions and Operations, jforster@dptv.org
Dave Devereaux, TV, Radio & Digital Communications, devereaux@dptv.org
Dan Alpert, Philanthropy and Major Donors, alpert@dptv.org
Fred Nahhat, Production, fnahhat@dptv.org
Georgeann Herbert, Content and Community Engagement, gherbert@dptv.org
Jamie Westrick, Business Development, jwestrick@dptv.org
Ryan Laurie, Individual Giving, rlaurie@dptv.org
Robalee Monroe, Executive Assistant to Rich Homberg, Ken Banach and Jeff Forster, rmonroe@dptv.org



For DPTV and WRCJ, a strong and committed board is vital to the institution’s success.  We are pleased to welcome three new members to our Board of Trustees: Melody Arabo, Melody Arabo has been a third grade teacher at Keith Elementary in the Walled Lake Consolidated School District since 2002. In 2008, she was named Keith Elementary's Teacher of the Year and was first runner-up for Walled Lake's District Teacher of the Year in 2009. She was named Michigan Teacher of the Year on May 15, 2014 by State Superintendent Mike Flanagan during a surprise assembly filled with students, colleagues, family, and friends. In her role as MTOY, Melody plans to highlight all of the outstanding advancements of the public school system and celebrate the hard work and unmatched dedication of public school teachers. Tony Cervone, was named senior vice president, Global Communications, in May 2014.  As GM’s top communications executive, he is responsible for the company’s overall global communications strategy.  He is a member of the Executive Leadership Team and a senior advisor to CEO Mary Barra.  Byron H. Pitts, Esq., has been a successful litigator for over 15 years.  Throughout his career, he has gained valuable experience in all phases of the justice system, utilizing his unique skillset from arguing cases including, but not limited to the U.S. District Court.  Specializing in criminal and civil litigation, attorney Pitts has tried and won cases throughout the country. For eight years, Pitts served on the Detroit Board of Ethics, an independent Charter created entity established by 1997 City Charter and an all-volunteer board of community leaders designed to provide guidance to politicians and community leaders regarding the ethical conduct of elected officials.

John Wenzel.jpg

Flickr Photostream